top of page


There are several types of pedestrian crossings designed to ensure the safety of pedestrians and regulate traffic flow. Here are the different types of pedestrian crossings in the UK:

  1. Zebra Crossing (Pelican Crossing):

    • Marked with black and white stripes on the road.

    • No traffic lights for vehicles.

    • Pedestrians have the right of way, but they should still check for oncoming vehicles.

    • Vehicles must stop when a pedestrian is waiting to cross or has stepped onto the crossing.

  1. Pelican Crossing:

    • Controlled by traffic lights.

    • Pedestrians press a button to activate the crossing.

    • When the green figure appears, pedestrians can cross.

    • Vehicles must stop when the red light is displayed.

  1. Puffin Crossing:

    • Similar to a pelican crossing but with infrared sensors to detect when pedestrians are still crossing.

    • Traffic lights remain red for vehicles until all pedestrians have safely crossed.

  1. Toucan Crossing:

    • Designed for both pedestrians and cyclists.

    • Controlled by traffic lights.

    • Pedestrians and cyclists can cross together.

    • Pedestrians and cyclists use the same crossing area.

  1. Pegasus Crossing:

    • Designed for horse riders.

    • Controlled by traffic lights.

    • Pedestrians, cyclists, and horse riders can use this crossing.

  1. Equestrian Crossing:

    • Similar to a Pegasus crossing but intended solely for horse riders.

  1. School Crossing (Xing):

    • Marked by flashing amber lights during school hours.

    • Often patrolled by a school crossing guard (lollipop person).

    • Vehicles must stop when the lights are flashing.

  1. Uncontrolled Crossing:

    • Crossings that have no traffic lights or markings.

    • Pedestrians have the right of way, but vehicles are not required to stop unless the pedestrian has stepped onto the road.

  1. Pedestrian Refuge Island (Central Island):

    • An island placed in the middle of a road with heavy traffic.

    • Pedestrians can cross one half of the road at a time, taking refuge on the island between.

  1. Signal-Controlled Crossings (Traffic Light Crossings):

    • Regular traffic lights at intersections that include pedestrian signals.

    • Pedestrians use the traffic lights to cross the road safely.

  1. Footbridge or Overpass:

    • A bridge built over the road for pedestrians to cross safely.

    • Allows pedestrians to cross without interrupting traffic flow.

  1. Subway or Underpass:

    • An underground passage that allows pedestrians to cross beneath the road.

    • Commonly used in urban areas to ensure pedestrian safety.

  1. Shared Space or Shared Surface Areas:

    • Some areas, such as town squares or pedestrian zones, have no marked crossings.

    • Vehicles and pedestrians share the space, and interactions are based on visual communication.

It's important for both pedestrians and drivers to understand the rules and responsibilities associated with each type of pedestrian crossing to ensure road safety and smooth traffic flow.

Produced on ChatGPT


bottom of page